Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

 

* * CDE will be closed on Monday, September 5 for the Labor Day holiday. * *

Endorsement Requirements

Colorado Endorsements

Colorado endorsements are issued based on the competency requirements set forth by the Colorado Licensing Act of 1991 and the Rules of Regulations associated with those statutes.

***The Colorado State Board of Education approved the adoption of Praxis exams for most of the Colorado endorsement areas effective after June 9, 2016.

  • The newly adopted Praxis exams will be available to take in Colorado after September 1, 2016.
  • View the list of all previous versions of Colorado-approved content assessments and discontinuance dates.
    • Rule 7.03(4) states that applicants will have a maximum of five years from the date of a discontinued
      content assessment to use the successful content assessment scores for fulfillment of endorsement
      criteria. A chart of all previous content exams is listed below.

For Grades 7-12 endorsements, Early Childhood Education and some K-12 endorsements:

You may meet competency requirements by:

  • completing a Colorado-approved program at an accepted, regionally accredited college or university; OR by
  • completing at least 24 hours of relevant college coursework (as determined by transcript review via the worksheets hyperlinked below); OR by
  • passing the appropriate Colorado State Board of Education-approved content exam.

For all other endorsements:

  • Please refer to the charts below for the specific requirements.
  • For a list of the state-approved programs offered at Colorado colleges and universities, please see Approved Educator Preparation Programs (PDF).
  • To view a searchable database of programs by endorsement area, region served, grade level, or type of program, view our Educator Preparation Searchable Database - New!
  • If you do not see your out-of-state endorsement listed below, please see our Out-of-State Endorsement FAQ page.
  • If you are seeking a Career and Technical Education Authorization endorsement, please visit our CTE page.
  • If you are seeking an alternative teacher license, please refer to the available endorsement areas on our Alternative Licensing page.

 

To apply, click the button at the bottom of the page.

Endorsements Earned Through Degree, Colorado-Approved Program, or Content Exam

Endorsements that may be earned through degree, Colorado-approved program, 24 credit hours as outlined in the worksheet provided, or by passing score on a Colorado-approved content exam.

The Colorado State Board of Education approved the adoption of Praxis exams for most of the Colorado endorsement areas effective after June 9, 2016. The below Praxis exams will be available to take in Colorado after September 1, 2016. View the list of all previous versions of Colorado approved content assessments and discontinuance dates.

Endorsement

Acceptable PLACE Exam

All PLACE Exam Passing Scores are 220
*** Last administration of all PLACE exams will be May 6, 2017 and will be accepted for 5 years until May 6, 2022.

Acceptable Praxis Exam

See below for individual Praxis Exam Passing Score

Agriculture and Natural Resources Education Grades 7-12

40

5701

Passing Score: 147

Business Grades 7-12

34

5101

Passing Score: 154

Business/Marketing Grades 7-12

 

5101

Passing Score: 154

Drama Theater Arts Grades K-12

30

5641

Passing Score: 153

Early Childhood Education Ages 0-8

02

5024

Passing Score: 160

English Language Arts Grades 7-12

07

5038

Passing Score: 167

Family and Consumer Sciences Grades 7-12

36

5122

Passing Score: 153

Health Grades K-12

31

5551

Passing Score: 155

Instructional Technology Grades K-12

51

5651

Passing Score: 166

Marketing Grades 7-12

35

5561

Passing Score: 157

Mathematics Grades 7-12

04

5161

Passing Score: 152

Music Grades K-12

29

5113

Passing Score: 161

Physical Education Grades K-12

32

5091

Passing Score: 148

Science Grades 7-12

05

0435/5435

5435 is a computer based version of this test

Passing Score: 152

Social Studies Grades 7-12

06

0081/5081

5081 is a computer based version of this test

Passing Score:150

Speech Grades 7-12

19

5221

Passing Score: 146

Technology Education Grades 7-12

37

5051

Passing Score: 159

Visual Arts Grades K-12

28

5135

Passing Score: 158

World Languages Grades K-12 (PDF) (American Sign Language, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Spanish)

See our content exam page for specifics

**Please note** there is no exam for American Sign Language

Mandarin Chinese is offered through NES (Last administration will be May 6, 2017 and will be accepted for 5 years until May 6, 2022)

  • Mandarin Chinese 5665 Passing Score 164
  • French 5174 Passing Score162
  • German 5183 Passing Score 163
  • Latin 5601 Passing Score 152
  • Spanish 5195 Passing Score163

 


Endorsements with Additional Requirements

Endorsement Requirements

Elementary Education Grades K-6

  • Colorado-approved content exam always required.
    • PLACE 01 with a passing score of 220 OR
    • Praxis 5018 with a passing score of 163 (available through 9/1/16) OR
    • Praxis 5001 with the below passing scores for each sub-test (available in CO after 9/1/16)
      • Reading (5002) 157
      • Math (5003)157
      • Social Studies (5004) 155
      • Science (5005)159
  • Initial license requires degree, program and exam.
  • Added endorsements may be added through content exam only.

Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education Grades K-12

  • No content exam available
  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned through 24 credit hours or  Colorado-approved program only.

Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Bilingual Education Specialist Grades K-12

  • No content exam available
  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned through Colorado-approved program only.

Dance Grades K-12

  • No content exam available.
  • May be added through 24 credit hours, degree or Colorado-approved program only.

Gifted Education Core Ages PreK-12

  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned through the completion of a Colorado-approved Graduate-level program for the preparation of gifted education educators including prescribed field experience and student teaching requirements.
  • Have passed the Praxis Gifted Education 5358 with a passing score of 157.

Gifted Education Specialist Ages PreK-12

  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned by completion of a Master’s degree in Gifted Education from an accepted institution of higher education including prescribed field experience and student teaching requirements .
  • ** Through March 30, 2017 only: may be added to an existing Colorado teacher license by taking and passing the Gifted and Talented PLACE 50 with a passing score of 220. The last administration of this exam to add this endorsement by test only is November 5, 2016.

Instructional Technology Specialist Grades K-12

  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned through completion of a Colorado-approved program for instructional technology specialists at an accepted institution of higher education that shall include a supervised practicum or internship as an instructional technology specialist.
  • Must already have three or more years of teaching experience while holding a teacher license.

Reading Teacher Grades K-12

  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned through completion of a Colorado-approved graduate program in reading at an accepted institution of higher education that shall include a supervised practicum or internship as a reading teacher.
  • Must already have two or more years of teaching experience while holding a teacher license.

Reading Specialist Grades K-12

  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned through completion of a Colorado-approved graduate program for reading specialists at an accepted institution of higher education that shall include a supervised practicum or internship as a reading teacher.
  • Must already have three or more years of teaching experience while holding a teacher license.

Teacher Librarian Grades K-12

  • This endorsement does not stand alone and may only be added to an existing teacher license.
  • May be earned through completion of a Colorado-approved program in library science or the equivalent from an accepted institution of higher education that shall include a supervised practicum or internship which includes both elementary and secondary school library experience.

Trade and Industry Grades 7-12

  • No content exam available.
  • May be added through 24 credit hours or Colorado-approved program only.

Special Education Teacher Endorsements

Endorsement Requirements

Early Childhood Special Education Ages 0-8

  • Must have completed a Colorado-approved program in early childhood special education that includes student teaching and practicum.

Early Childhood Special Education Specialist Ages 0-8

  • Must have completed a degree or non-degree Colorado-approved program at the graduate level in early childhood special education that includes field-based experience or practicum.

Special Education Generalist Ages 5-21

  • Requires two content exams; Elementary Education and Special Education Generalist.
  • Also requires completion of a Colorado-approved program, degree or 24 credit hours as determined by the Department.
  • May be added to an existing Colorado teacher license by taking and passing the below Special Education Generalist exams through March 30, 2017 only.
    • Special Education Generalist PLACE 20 with a passing score of 220  OR
    • Praxis #5354 with a passing score of 151
  • Educators exercising this option must pass a Colorado-approved content assessment before February 28, 2017. *** Please note the February 28, 2017 date is an extension from previous communications.

Special Education Specialist Ages 5-21

  • Must already hold the Special Education Generalist endorsement, or demonstrate the competencies required for this endorsement.
  • Must hold an earned Master’s degree or higher in special education from an accepted institution of higher education.
  • Must have completed a Colorado-approved program for the preparation of special education specialists.

Special Education Specialist: Deaf and Hard of Hearing Ages Birth-21

  • Must hold a Master’s degree or higher in special education deaf/hard of hearing or its equivalent, as determined by the Department, from an accepted institution of higher education.
  • Must have completed a Colorado-approved program for special education specialists: deaf/hard of hearing that includes prescribed field experience requirements.

Special Education Specialist: Visually Impaired Ages Birth-21

  • Must hold a Master’s degree or higher in special education visual impairment or its equivalent, as determined by the Department, from an accepted institution of higher education.
  • Must have completed a Colorado-approved program for special education specialists: visually impaired that includes prescribed field experience requirements.

Special Service Provider Endorsements

Endorsement Requirements Content Exam

School Audiologist Ages 0-21

  • AuD or PhD in School Audiology
  • Completion of a Colorado-approved program in School Audiology
  • Practicum or internship in a school setting, equivalent to a minimum of 8 weeks full time (320 hours) under the supervision of a professionally-licensed or master's level licensed audiologist
  • Passage of the national audiology exam (Praxis II Audiology)

Praxis 0342 or 5342

Passing Score: 170

School Counselor Ages 0-21

  • Master's Degree or higher in School Counseling as defined by accreditation by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling or Related Educational Programs
  • Minimum of 100 clock hour practicum
  • Minimum of 600 clock hour internship, with multiple grade levels of students under the supervision of a licensed school counselor
  • Passing of the Colorado state approved content exam

PLACE 41

Passing Score: 220

OR

Praxis 5421

Passing Score: 156

 

School Nurse Ages 0-21

  • Bachelor’s degree or higher in nursing from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Must hold a license to practice professional nursing in Colorado pursuant to the provisions of the Colorado Nurse Practice Act or hold a license in another state and is practicing in Colorado pursuant to the nurse licensing compact
  • Successful completion of field experiences and a supervised practicum as prescribed by the preparing institution, including experiences with school-age children in a community health/public health or school setting.

None

School Occupational Therapist Ages 0-21

  • Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Successful completion of an American Occupational Therapy Association-accredited college or university program in occupational therapy
  • Successful completion of a practicum or internship as required by the school of occupational therapy attended, which may be held in a variety of settings
  • Must hold a valid occupational therapy license issued by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
  • Passing of the occupational therapy national registration examination administered by the national board for certification in occupational therapy

NBCOT

School Orientation and Mobility Specialist Ages 0-21

  • Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Completion of a Colorado-approved preparation program for school orientation and mobility specialists
  • Completion of practicum or internship, which must be in a school setting and equivalent to a minimum of 320 hours, full-time, under the supervision of an Academy of Certification of Vision Rehabilitation and Education Professionals (ACVREP) licensed orientation and mobility specialist.
  • Passing of the ACVREP exam
  • Hold a current and valid ACVREP orientation and mobility certificate

ACVREP

School Physical Therapist Ages 0-21

  • Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Successful completion of American Physical Therapy Association’s Commission on the Accreditation of Physical Therapy Education- accredited physical therapy program
  • Successful completion of practicum or internship, as required by the physical therapy program attended
  • Must hold a valid Colorado Physical Therapist License issued by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA)
 

School Psychologist Ages 0-21

  • Successful completion of a Colorado-approved specialist-level program with a minimum of 60 graduate semester hours or a doctoral program for the preparation of school psychologists, serving children/students ages birth-21 at an accepted institution of higher education
  • Passing of the national school psychology exam
  • Successful completion of practicum consisting of a sequence of closely supervised on-campus or field-based activities, designed to develop and evaluate a candidate’s mastery of distinct professional skills, consistent with program and/or course goals
  • Successful completion of internship consisting of a full-time experience over one year, or half-time over two years with a minimum of 1200 clock hours, of which 600 must be in a school setting
  • The internship may include, beyond the 600 hours in the school setting, other acceptable internship experiences, including in private, state- approved educational programs or in other appropriate mental health or education-related programs.
  • May hold a valid NCSP credential, issued by the national school psychology certification board

Praxis 5402

Passing Score: 147

OR

National Certified School Psychologist (NCSP) certification

School Social Worker Ages 0-21

  • Master’s degree or higher in social work from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Documented evidence of completion of coursework in the areas of school and special education law, including content covering Functional Behavior Assessment (FBA) and the development of behavior intervention plans
  • Successful completion of Colorado-approved content exam
  • Successful completion of a supervised 900 clock-hour practicum in the field of social work which shall have been completed in a school, social service agency, mental health clinic or facility and/or hospital setting
  • Successful completion of at least one field experience with school age children/students

Colorado Assessment for Licensed Clinical Social Workers

OR

PLACE 47

Passing Score: 220

School Speech-Language Pathologist Ages 0-21

  • Master’s degree or higher in communication disorders or speech-language pathology from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Successful completion of a speech-language pathology program accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation (CAA) in audiology and speech-language pathology of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
  • Practicum or internship, with children and students ages birth-21 in a school setting, equivalent to 8 weeks full-time (320 hours) under the supervision of a professionally licensed SLP
  • Successfully passed a state approved SLP specialty area test

ASHA certification

OR

Praxis 5331

Passing Score: 162


Leadership Licenses

License Requirements Content Exam

Principal (This is a building-level leadership endorsement)

  • Three years of licensed experience in a public or nonpublic elementary or secondary school
  • Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Completion of a Colorado-approved program for the preparation of principals.
  • Passing of the Colorado-approved content exam

PLACE 80 Passing Score: 220

OR

Praxis 5411

Passing Score: 145

 

Administrator (This is a district-level leadership endorsement)

  • Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accepted institution of higher education
  • Completion of a Colorado-approved graduate program for school administration
  • Passing of the Colorado-approved content exam or evidence of three years of continuous professional administrative experience.

PLACE 81

Passing Score: 220

OR

Praxis 5411

Passing Score: 145

Special Education Director

  • Master’s degree or higher in special education or demonstrate knowledge and application of standards for the specialist (as determined by the Department)
  • Completion of a Colorado-approved program for Special Education Director that includes a supervised field-based experience OR an approved program for School Administrator and an approved Master’s program in special education
  • Minimum of two years of experience working with students with exceptional academic and talent aptitude

none

Gifted Education Director

  • Master’s degree or higher in gifted education or demonstrate knowledge and application of standards for the specialist (as determined by the Department)
  • Completion of a Colorado-approved program for Gifted Education Director that includes a supervised field-based experience
  • Minimum of two years of experience working with students with exceptional academic and talent aptitude (gifted students)

none


Discontinued Endorsements

Endorsement Requirements

Linguistically Diverse Educator and Linguistically Diverse Bilingual Educator Grades K-12

  • These endorsements were discontinued as of December 31, 2012 and may only be renewed on a professional license or earned if you were enrolled in a Colorado-approved program by the Fall of 2012.

School Librarian Grades K-12

  • This endorsement was discontinued as of March 30, 2016 and may only be renewed on a professional license or earned if you were enrolled in a Colorado-approved program by the Fall of 2016.
  • May be added to an existing Colorado teacher license by taking and passing the Place 42 (Passing Score: 220) exam through March 30, 2017. The last administration of this exam will be November 5, 2016.

Click to Apply

 

Quick Links

 

Contact Us

Professional Services & Educator Licensure
6000 E Evans Ave
Building #2, Suite 100
Denver, CO 80222
Contact Licensing

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

WCC Access