Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Office of Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Programs

Our Office

The ESEA Office is a sub-office that lives under the Federal Programs Unit. The work of this office is to define program and systems quality and to establish standards, indicators, and protocols with which to assess local programs and systems. The goal is to help build the capacity of the field to implement higher quality programs and systems. Our office seeks to ensure that program applications, review protocols and approval criteria reflect high quality program standards and maximizes efficiency and impact.

Our Mission

The purpose of our work is ensure that the ESEA programs in Colorado provide all children significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education and close educational achievement gaps.

Our Stakeholders

The Every Student Succeeds Act Committee of Practitioners serves to advise the CDE in carrying out its responsibilities under the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015. It operates to identify issues across regions of the state and facilitate two-way communication between CDE and the preK-12 education community throughout Colorado.

At this time, CDE is accepting applications for the following representation on the committee:

  • Charter school teacher(s)
  • Career and technical education teacher(s)
  • Principal(s) or other school leaders
  • Specialized instructional support personnel
  • Paraprofessional(s)
  • Additional parents of school-age children
  • Exceptional Student Services practitioner
  • Geographic representation from the Southeast, West Central, and Northwest Regions of the State

To apply for a position, fill out the 2018-19 Application(DOC) and submit to Brad Bylsma

ESEA Office

Brad Bylsma: Metro and Southwest 

Colleen Brooks: Metro, North Central and Northeast 
Title III Program Specialist 

Laura Meushaw: Metro, Southeast and Pikes Peak 
Title I Program Specalist 

Kristen Collins: Metro, Southwest
Consultant: Title VB 

Lindsay Swanton: Metro, Northwest and West Central 
Title I Program Specalist 

Joey Willett: Metro, Northwest and West Central 
Title I/ ID Program Specialist 

Jeremy Meredith: Metro, Southwest 
Title II Program Specialist 

Michelle Prael 
Program Support 



Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access