Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory


* * CDE will be closed on Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day holiday. * *

Colorado Teacher of the Year

TOY program logo banner with red and green apples

Each year the Colorado Teacher of the Year Program honors an exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled K-12 classroom teacher to represent the entire profession in Colorado. The Colorado Teacher of the Year will automatically become Colorado’s nominee for the National Teacher of the Year competition. The National Teacher of the Year Program is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers. Additional information about the national program can be found on the National Teacher of the Year program webpage.

Now Accepting 2019 Colorado Teacher of the Year Applications


New for 2019! The Colorado Teacher of the Year application is now electronic and must be submitted online at the link below. Applications for this honor will be due no later than 11:59 pm, Wednesday, July 11, 2018.

For information on program background, guidelines and duties of the Colorado Teacher of the Year, please view the document below. This hard copy of the application can be accessed and used to plan responses to the online application questions:


Applications must be submitted by 11:59 pm, on Wednesday, July 11, 2018 through the online Colorado Teacher of the Year Application.



Do you know an exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable and skilled K-12 teacher??  Nominate them to apply for the 2019 Colorado Teacher of the Year award!  

Christina Randle, 2018 Colorado Teacher of the Year

Christina Randle

Christina Randle can be reached at:

Soaring Eagles Elementary School
Harrison School District 2
4710 Harrier Ridge Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
(719) 540-4000 |

Christina Randle, a first-grade teacher at Soaring Eagles Elementary School in Harrison School District No. 2, was named the 2018 Colorado Teacher of the Year at her school on October 27, 2018.

Randle was selected for the honor based on her passion for teaching, dedication and collaboration with her peers and commitment to engaging parents in their students’ learning. Building young problem-solvers through equity to ensure a solid academic foundation is what defines her as a teacher. She provides training to her colleagues at Soaring Eagles Elementary, as well as to kindergarten and first-grade teachers in her district, on the implementation of the district’s curriculum.

Ms. Randle has been a first-grade teacher in Harrison School District for 14 years and has been at Soaring Eagles Elementary for 10 years. Ms. Randle provides an enthusiastic, nurturing classroom environment that produces confident, respectful learners. Her classroom has been used as a model classroom for visits from schools around the state.

As the 2018 Teacher of the Year, Ms. Randle will participate in many professional development opportunities through the National Teacher of the Year program and will even get to attend a ceremony at the White House and go to Space Camp for a week.

Adams State University, Colorado Education Association, and Colorado Springs Downtown Partnership provided sponsorship for the award.

Teacher of the Year Archives

Recent Teachers of the Year

Veteran Teachers of the Year

Colorado Council of the Network of State Teachers of the Year

The Colorado Council of the Network of State Teachers of the Year (NSTOY) is an organization committed to the preservation and enhancement of the Colorado Teacher of the Year Program. The Council works with the Colorado State Department of Education and other corporate and organizational partners to celebrate teaching excellence through the recognition of educators who have inspired a love for learning in their students, and who have distinguished themselves in the profession. All Colorado State Teachers of the Year, as well as each year’s finalists, are invited to participate. For more information for upcoming meetings, as well as how to join, please visit the Colorado Council's website.

Contact Us

For more information on this program, please contact:

Kim Burnham
Competitive Grants and Awards
(303) 866-6916

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access