You are here

Rural Education Council Members

Rural Education Council banner

The Rural Education Council is comprised of superintendent representatives from each of the eight regions in the state, two rural school board members, two rural principals, a rural teacher, and a representative from the Colorado Association of School Executives, Colorado BOCES Association, Rural Alliance and the Colorado Association of School Boards.

Rural Education Council Members


  • Liz Bauer, Superintendent
    West Grand School District 1-JT
  • Mike BowersSuperintendent
    Lone Star School District
  • Jess Buller, Superintendent
    Plainview School District RE-2
  • Johnnie EcherPrincipal
    Hemphill Middle School
  • Jessica Filla, Board Member
    Akron School District No. R-1
  • Robert FultonState Coordinator
    Colorado Center for Rural Education
  • Caryn GibsonSuperintendent
    Delta County Joint District No. 50
  • Leon Hanhardt, Superintendent
    Bayfield School District 10 JT-R
  • Ken HaptonstallExecutive Director
    Colorado River BOCES
  • Bree JonesSuperintendent
    La Veta School District RE-2
  • Ty KempSuperintendent
    Granada School District
  • Brenda KrageSuperintendent
    Fremont Re-2 School District
  • Courtney Landry, Head of School
    Salida Montessori Charter School

  • Andy LavierPrincipal
    Alamosa High School
  • Dale McCallExecutive Director
    Colorado BOCES
  • Toby MelsterSuperintendent
    Centennial School District R-1
  • Bret MilesExecutive Director
    CO Association of School Executives
  • Michelle MurphyExecutive Director
    Colorado Rural Alliance
  • Harvey RudeDirector
    College for Rural Education
  • Mike Schmidt, Superintendent
    Platte Canyon School District 1
  • Chris Selle, Superintendent
    Meeker School District RE-2
  • Johan Van NieuwenhuizenSuperintendent
    Weld County School District RE-1