You are here

BrainSTEPS CO Team Contact List

COVID-19 and Special Education

View information for educators and parents to support students with disabilities during the COVID-19 pandemic.

COVID-19 resources for special education

BrainSTEPS Logo

Following is a listing of Colorado districts/BOCES that have trained BrainSTEPS CO teams. Students in these districts, who continue to have educational impact following acquired brain injury, should be referred to the BrainSTEPS CO team via the online referral at If you have specific questions regarding services for students with brain injury in a particular district, please contact that district’s BrainSTEPS CO team leader listed below.

BrainSteps CO Program Coordinators

Toni Grishman
Email Toni Grishman

Heather Hotchkiss, MSW
Email Heather Hotchkiss

BrainSTEPS CO Team

Academy 20 School District

Team Leader: Kristianne Goff

Referral Email:

Adams 12

Team Leader: Laura MacDonald

Referral Email:

Aspen School District

Team Leader: Allina Robertson

Referral Email:

Aurora Public Schools

Team Leaders: Tammy Hutchison 

Referral Email: 

Boulder Valley School District

Team Leaders: Jennifer Sleeper & Dr. Sabrina Miller

Referral Email: &

Centennial BOCES

Serving Morgan Re‐2J Brush, Morgan Re 20J Weldon Valley, Morgan Re‐50 Wiggins School District, Weld Re‐1 Gilcrest, Weld Re‐2 Eaton, Weld Re‐7 Platte Valley (Kersey), Weld Re‐9 Ault‐Highland, Weld Re‐10 Briggsdale, Weld Re‐11 Prairie, and Weld Re‐12 Pawnee (Grover)

Team Leader: Nicole Miller & Dr. Kerry Poole

Referral Email: &

Cherry Creek School District

Team Leaders: Paige Lujan

Referral Email:

Colorado River BOCES

Serving Garfield Re‐1 Roaring Fork, Garfield Re‐2 Rifle, and Garfield 16 Grand Valley

Team Leader: Denise Rahe

Referral Email:

Denver Public Schools

Team Leader: Teresa Gillespie & Kristi McCollum

Referral Email: &

Douglas County School District

Team Leaders: Dr. Stephanie Crawford & Lisa Kantor

Referral Email: &

East Central BOCES

Serving Adams 29J Bennett, Adams 31J Strasburg, Arapahoe 26J Deer Trail, Arapahoe 32J Byers, Cheyenne R‐1 Kit Carson, Cheyenne RE‐5, Elbert C‐2, Kiowa, Elbert 300 Agate Kit, Carson C‐20 Arriba/Flagler, Kit Carson R‐23, Hi‐Plains, Kit Carson R‐4, Stratton, Kit Carson R‐5 Bethune, Kit Carson RE‐6J Burlington, Lincoln C113 Genoa‐Hugo, Lincoln Re 4J Limon, Lincoln Re 23 Karval, Washington R‐2 Arickaree, Washington R‐104 Woodlin, Idalia RJ‐3 Idalia, and Liberty J‐4 Liberty

Team Leaders: Rachel Franck & Beth O’Brien

Referral Email:

Fort Morgan RE‐3

Team Leaders: Lisa Megal 

Referral Email: 

Fountain‐Fort Carson School District 8

Team Leader: Shanda Vaira

Referral Email:

Harrison 2 School District

Team Leaders: Meg Linn

Referral Email:

JeffCo Public Schools

Team Leaders: Jody Dickerson, & Lynea Pearson

Referral Email: & 

Mesa County Valley School District 51

Team Leaders: Brielle Etcheverry & Thomas McCause

Referral Email: &

Moffat County School District

Team Leaders: Teresa Laster & Myranda Lyons

Referral Email:

Montrose County School District

Team Leaders: Stephen Jacob Price & Amy Shelly

Referral Email: &

Poudre School District

Team Leader: Donna Detmar‐Hanna

Referral Email:

Pueblo County District 70

Team Leaders: Hilary Munoz & Aaron Crowley

Referral Email: &

Roaring Fork School District

Team Leader: Angie Simpson

Referral Email:

San Juan BOCES

Serving Archuleta 50 Jt, Dove Creek Re-2J, Dolores Re-4A, Bayfield 10JT-R, Silverton 1, Montezuma/Cortez RE-1, Ignacio 11 Jt, Mancos Re-6 

Team Leader: Janis Milliet & Raleigh Marmorstein

Referral Email: &

School District 27J

Team Leader: Jennifer Mathis & Sara Knippenberg

Referral Email: &

School District 49

Team Leader: Megan Mucciolo

Referral Email:

St. Vrain Valley School District

Team Leader: Kim Ainsworth & Melissa Thompson

Referral Email: &

Thompson Schools

Team Leader: Susie Babcock

Referral Email:

Ute Pass BOCES 

Serving, El Paso 14 Manitou Springs, Teller Re‐1 Cripple Creek, and Teller Re‐2 Woodland Park

Team Leader: Joyce Stafford

Referral Email:

Weld RE-4/Windsor

Team Leader: Beth Liesenfeld & Nicole Maas

Referral Email: &

Weld RE-6/Greeley

Team Leader: Jen Buser & Jolynn Hirair

Referral Email:

BrainSTEPS is a joint project between the Colorado Brain Injury Program, and the Colorado Department of Education.

CBIP Logo  CDE Logo Small

Find what you were looking for?


If you have problems with broken links or accessing the content on this page, please contact our web content coordinator Amanda Timmerman at Please copy the URL link for this page into the email when referencing the problem you are experiencing.