You are here

News Release - Five Colorado schools receive National Blue Ribbon award

Oct. 1, 2018

Five Colorado schools receive National Blue Ribbon award

DENVER -- Colorado Education Commissioner Katy Anthes congratulated five Colorado schools named by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos as National Blue Ribbon Schools based on overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.
"I am extremely proud of the success of these schools and the hard work being done by their staff, students and families," said Commissioner Anthes. "This award recognizes their dedication, compassion and commitment to making sure every child has an opportunity to succeed." 
The schools are Kendrick Lakes Elementary in Lakewood (Jeffco Public Schools), Swigert International (Denver Public Schools), Tavelli Elementary (Poudre School District), Willow Creek (Cherry Creek School District) and Zach Elementary (Poudre School District).
The program recognizes public and private K-12 schools where students achieve very high learning standards and are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gaps.
“I'm pleased to celebrate with you as your school is named a National Blue Ribbon School,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees.  “We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives. Congratulations on your students' accomplishments and for your extraordinary commitment to meeting their unique needs.”
All schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores and subgroup scores on state assessments or nationally normed tests as well as graduation rates: 
  • “Exemplary High Performing,” in which schools are recognized as high performing as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • “Exemplary Improving,” in which schools that have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,500 schools. On Nov. 7-8, Sec. DeVos and the U.S. Department of Education will celebrate with these honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.
Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The U.S. Department of Education asks National Blue Ribbon School nominations from top education officials in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the U.S. Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by the Council of American Private Education.