

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

For Immediate Release May 10, 2023

Contact: Raymond Johnson johnson r@cde.state.co.us

DENVER PUBLIC SCHOOLS TEACHER AWAITS ANNOUNCEMENT OF PRESIDENTIAL TEACHING AWARD

Amanda Jaquette, a fifth-grade teacher at Brown International Academy in Denver, was selected as a 2022 Colorado Finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Jaquette, a 15-year veteran teaching in Denver Public Schools, is one of six Colorado teachers of mathematics awaiting an announcement of the PAEMST awards, the nation's highest honor for U.S. K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers. The awards program is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

State finalists represent the most outstanding teachers Colorado has to offer and serve as both a model and an inspiration to students and fellow teachers.

"I am so honored to be one of Colorado's state finalists for the PAEMST award," says Jaquette. "There are so many amazing math teachers in Colorado and around the country, and I am humbled to be recognized among them." Jaquette's PAEMST application noted her excellence in both knowledge of content and use of instructional approaches. "Learning math is so much more than just computing numbers," says Jaquette. "It develops reasoning skills and enhances problem solving in all aspects of life," added Jaquette. "Amanda has become the leader for math professional development for our fourth and fifth grade teachers," says Jennifer Woolf, Jaquette's principal at Brown International Academy. "Amanda deserves to be recognized as the exceptional educator that she is."

Jaquette joins a prestigious group of recent Colorado mathematics teachers who all await award announcements from the White House, including Erin Wahler-Cleveland of Harrison School District 2 (2022-2023 7-12 finalist), Sidney Cerise of Greeley-Evans School District 6 (2022-2023 7-12 finalist), Amanda Sutton of Poudre School District (2021-2022 K-6 finalist), Natalie Sprigg of Douglas County Schools (2020-2021 7-12 finalist), and Aaron Thompson of Adams 12 Five-Star Schools (2020-2021 7-12 finalist).

Each year, a national committee of prominent mathematicians, scientists, mathematics/science education researchers, district-level personnel, and classroom teachers recommends up to 108 teachers to receive PAEMST awards. Up to two teachers—mathematics or science—from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Territories as a group (comprising American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and the U.S. Virgin Islands), and schools operated in the United States and overseas by the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) receive the award. Teachers who are selected as PAEMST awardees receive a trip to Washington, D.C., where they attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities. They also receive a \$10,000 award from NSF, a Presidential certificate, and join an elite cohort of award-winning teachers who can influence state/jurisdiction and national STEM teaching.