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CTE Evaluation Worksheet

 

04.16.2019 Worksheets provide general guidance about content proficiency requirements for purposes of application.  Determination of 
qualification will be made by CDE’s Educator Licensure staff upon evaluation of application. 

 

Secondary CTE Personal Care Services  

Applicant 
                                                                    

Legal name: ________________________________________  Date: ________________________ 
 

Requirements 
Content Knowledge (Applicants must have A or B): 
A. 24 semester hours of related postsecondary coursework verified on an official transcript to include a minimum of 3 

semester hours of content coursework in four of the areas listed in the table below. 
OR 
B. Applicants who provide a valid and current state* or national industry license or certification in the appropriate 

occupational area may have the content coursework waived by the Colorado Department of Education (e.g., 
Colorado Cosmetology license). *This does not include teacher licenses. 

Occupational Experience (Applicants must have option 1, 2 or 3):  
Credit for student teaching up to 800 hours, in the content area, may be applied to either occupational or teaching 
experience  

1. If you hold a Bachelor’s degree or higher: 2,000 hours of verified occupational (non-teaching) experience in the 
content area within the last seven years   OR 

2. If you hold less than a Bachelor’s degree:  4,000 hours of verified occupational (non-teaching) experience in the 
content area within the last seven years  OR 

3. 3 years verified teaching experience in the content area within the last seven years (full-time is defined as 51% or 
more of a teaching schedule dedicated to teaching in the content area). 

 
 

Content coursework 
(3 semester hours in four of the areas) Coursework Semester Hours 

Haircutting    
Hair coloring   
Hair styling    
Disinfection, sanitation and safety   
Facials & skin care   
Manicures & pedicures   
Salon management    
Ethics, interpersonal skills and salesmanship   
Cosmetology laws, rules and regulations   
Retailing or merchandising   

Total semester hours (24 semester hours required):  
Up to a maximum of 6 semester hours of professional development may be applied toward coursework requirements 
and must be documented in the application. (15 contact hours = 1 semester hour) 
Note: Initial (three-year) CTE Authorizations cannot be renewed and always include mandatory CTE coursework 
assigned at the time of issuance. You will be notified by CDE via email of all required coursework that is needed to 
advance to a Professional (five-year) CTE Authorization. Please do not enroll in coursework related to this CTE 
Authorization until you have been notified by the Colorado Department of Education. 


