You are here
Classified Job Information
Working for the State of Colorado Offers Many Advantages!
- Interesting Careers
- Steady Employment
- Training Programs
- Paid Sick Leave
- Paid Holidays
- Opportunities for Promotion
- Pay Increase Based on Performance
- Excellent Retirement Plan
- Part Paid Health Insurance
- A Paid Life Insurance Program
- Salary Based on Wage Surveys
- Equal Opportunities
Unless otherwise noted on the announcement, work experience that provides the same kind, amount and level of knowledge as that acquired in the required education may be substituted for the education on a year-for-year basis.
If your education or experience does not fall into the categories listed on this announcement, you will not be considered for this position. In order to be considered for this position, applications and resumes must be received by the closing date.
Who May Apply?
Colorado state government is an equal opportunity employer. The Department does not discriminate for or against any applicant based on age, race, color, religion, sex, national origin, political affiliation, sexual orientation or disability. Announced jobs are open to persons who are at least 16 years of age (unless other age limits are required for specific jobs) and persons who are residents of Colorado.
The State of Colorado must comply with the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986. If hired, you will be required to provide documents to prove your identity and your authorization to work. This law applies to all persons hired.
Read carefully the application instructions for information on additional points which may be added to final passing scores for eligible veterans and unremarried spouses of such veterans on open competitive examinations. Veterans preference applies to open competitive examinations only.
How to Apply
If you have indicated an interest in a job, you will considered for vacancies only if you are qualified and have completed and passed the appropriate tests. You may not retake the same written multiple choice test within any 12 month period. Your most recent scores will always be used should you retake any test. If you fail to appear for a scheduled test, you may not be considered for jobs requiring a score on that test.
Colorado state law requires that the top three scoring individuals from the testing process be referred to the hiring authority for a job interview.
When there is a vacancy and your name is among the top three on the eligible list, you will be notified either in writing or by phone of the referral to that agency for a hiring interview. Agencies may hire any of the top-ranked persons referred to them.
Trial on the Job
If you are appointed to a permanent position, you will serve a probationary or trial period, not to exceed one year. This is the final part of the selection process, and performance on the job is reviewed carefully. Upon passing this probationary or trial period, you will receive certified status.
All candidates should be aware that the State of Colorado, by executive order, prohibits smoking in the Colorado Department of Education building.
Conditions of Employment
Non-exempt employees of the Colorado Department of Education agree to be compensated for time worked in excess of 40 hours per workweek with compensatory time (1.5 hours for every hour in excess of 40).
Colorado Fiscal Rules require all new employees to be on direct deposit.