Site Index | CDE Offices | Staff Directory

Standards and Assessment Task Force



The Colorado Standards and Assessments Task Force, established by the Colorado General Assembly (HB14-­‐1202), is charged with studying the implications of the statewide assessment system for school districts, public schools, charter schools, educators and students and preparing a report of findings, including legislative recommendations, by January 31, 2015.

The Task Force, comprised of 15 members representing parents, teachers, administrators, school board members and the business community, meets monthly as a whole group and holds additional subgroup meetings as needed. The schedule of upcoming meetings and related materials can be found below. All monthly task force meetings will be held from 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

View Colorado House Bill 14-1202 (HB 1202)

Public Comment Period Concluded: The Task Force wishes to extend its deepest appreciation to the countless stakeholders who provided written input and/or attended public hearings held on the Colorado Assessment System. The Task Force has concluded its deliberation process and is in the process of writing its Final Report to the Legislature. The email account estabilished for the purpose of receiving public input is now closed.

View Received Public Comments


Task Force Meeting Materials

View Meeting Materials and Notes

Background Materials and Resources

Task Force Members

  • Adele Bravo, Colorado Education Association (CEA), Broomfield, Public School Teacher Representative
  • Jay Cerney, Cherry Creek Academy, Englewood, Charter School Representative
  • John Creighton, St. Vrain Valley Schools, Longmont, School Board Director Representative
  • Bethany Drosendahl, Cheyenne Mountain School District 12, CO Springs, Parent Representative
  • Lisa Escarcega, Aurora Public Schools, Aurora, District Administrator Representative
  • Bill Jaeger, Colorado Childen's Campaign, Denver, Organization that represents low performing students
  • Tony Lewis, Donnell-Kay Foundation, CSI Board, Denver, Charter School Institute Representative
  • Donna Lynne, Chair, Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce, Morrison, Business Representative

  • Syna Morgan, JeffCo Schools , District Administrator Representative
  • Luke Ragland, Colorado Succeeds, Denver, Business Representative
  • Dan Snowberger, Durango School District, Durango, District Administrator Representative
  • Ilana Spiegel, Supportive Parents, Educators and Students (SPEAK), Centennial, Parent Representative
  • Dane Stickney, Strive Prep Charter School, Denver, School Teacher Representative
  • Nancy Tellez, Poudre School District Board of Education, Fort Collins, School Board Director Representative
  • Susan Van Gundy, PARCC, Golden, PARCC representative

Note: Task Force members serve as volunteers, without compensation for time or expenses associated with attending meetings.

Related Links


For more information, contact the HB 1202 Task Force facilitator, Laura Lefkowits, at

Quick Links


Contact Us

Colorado Dept. of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 303-866-6600
Fax: 303-830-0793
Contact CDE

CDE Hours
Mon - Fri 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
See also: Licensing Hours

Educator Licensing 

WCC Access