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Dear Superintendents and BOCES Directors,

| hope you are all doing well. The change to Daylight Savings Time is always rough on kids and families, so
| hope you are all hanging in there!

I’m writing to update you about an important conversation that took place at the State Board of
Education meeting last week. We had a lengthy discussion about requirements for local education
agencies to provide CDE with evidence that their K-3 educators who teach reading have completed the
required training in scientifically based reading instruction. We brought this discussion up with the state
board because of the letter many of you signed with your concerns about this collection. You can see our
presentation to the board here - where we raised your concerns and asked them how they would like us to
proceed. We felt it was important to get their direct input on this collection because the goals of the
READ Act are so incredibly important to the board, and this collection seemed to require policy decisions
rather than administrative considerations.

As you know, the August 2022 deadline is quickly approaching for all kindergarten through third-grade
teachers to complete evidence-based training in teaching reading. Each Local Education Provider in
Colorado is responsible for ensuring that their K-3 teachers complete this required training, and you are
responsible for providing evidence to CDE that your educators have finished the training. CDE has worked
to create a way for that evidence to be more easily submitted to the department using the Colorado
Online Licensing (COOL) system. By having teachers submit their documentation through the COOL
system, you will minimize the data submission burden for your district.

If you do not submit evidence to CDE that your educators have completed the training, your READ Act
funds for the 2022-23 school year could be delayed or withheld.

We explained to the state board the concerns that some of you have raised about the reporting
requirements. While the state board understands that this is a new requirement during a very busy and
challenging year, they continue to believe the reporting is integral to achieving the ultimate goal of the
READ Act - ensuring all students are reading at grade level by the end of third grade. Board members
indicated that CDE should be understanding of exceptional circumstances as we review evidence and
make determinations about the release of READ funding. At the same time, they indicated we should
proceed with the reporting requirements as currently planned.

To make it easier on you and your staff, | strongly encourage you to require your educators to submit
documentation that they have completed the training in the COOL system, so you can simply pull a report
from COOL and submit that to CDE. CDE does not have the authority to require educators to submit
documentation in COOL, but you do. If your educators do not use the COOL system to demonstrate they
completed the training, you will need to gather documentation from your educators and send that to CDE,
which will be more time consuming for you.

201 East Colfax Avenue, Denver, CO 80203-1799 P 303.866.6600 F 303.830.0793
Katy Anthes, Ph.D., Commissioner of Education | www.cde.state.co.us



https://go.boarddocs.com/co/cde/Board.nsf/files/CC424L005E02/$file/READ%20Act%20K-3%20Teacher%20Training%20March%202022%20replacement.pdf
https://go.boarddocs.com/co/cde/Board.nsf/files/CC424L005E02/$file/READ%20Act%20K-3%20Teacher%20Training%20March%202022%20replacement.pdf

You can find information for your teachers and information for districts on our website, including sample
communications you can use to encourage your teachers to complete the training and submit
documentation through COOL.

If you have any questions about the requirements or how you can submit your evidence that your teachers
have met the requirements, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us. You can contact either Floyd Cobb,
executive director of Teaching and Learning, or Melissa Colsman, associate commissioner of Student
Learning.

With spring break right around the corner, | hope you all get a chance to step away from work so you can
enjoy time with family and friends and refuel for the last couple months of what has been an incredibly

busy and challenging year.

Thanks,

Katy Anthes, Ph.D.
Commissioner

201 East Colfax Avenue, Denver, CO 80203-1799 P 303.866.6600 F 303.830.0793
Katy Anthes, Ph.D., Commissioner of Education | www.cde.state.co.us



https://www.cde.state.co.us/coloradoliteracy/k-3trainingrequirement-teachers
https://www.cde.state.co.us/coloradoliteracy/districtresponsibilitiesreadtraining
https://www.cde.state.co.us/communications/tools-teacher-training
https://www.cde.state.co.us/communications/tools-teacher-training
https://www.cde.state.co.us/communications/tools-teacher-training
mailto:cobb_f@cde.state.co.us
mailto:colsman_m@cde.state.co.us

