# Workforce Diploma Pilot Program

HB 19-1236 Fact Sheet



## **PROGRAM OVERVIEW**

Approximately 350,000 adults in Colorado do not have a high school credential and in order to meet workforce goals for future economic growth these Coloradans need to be reengaged. The Workforce Diploma Pilot Program (HB19-1236; C.R.S. 22-10.3-101) was established in 2019 to support Colorado adults ages 21 and older without a high school credential. This pilot will operate for three years (2019-2022) and provides financial incentives for eligible providers to reengage Colorado adults in obtaining a high school diploma and other credentials. For the 2019-20 fiscal year, the legislature appropriated \$1 million for reimbursement payments to qualified providers.

# **QUALIFIED PROVIDERS**

To be eligible for this pilot, providers must be:

- A public, nonprofit, or private accredited, diploma-granting institution with at least two years of experience providing adult dropout recovery services, including recruitment, learning plan development, and proactive coaching and mentoring; or
- A local education provider (defined in <u>C.R.S. 22-10-103(7)</u> as an entity that provides appropriate and effective adult education and literacy programs recognized by the Department of Education)

Qualified providers must report data annually to the Office of Adult Education Initiatives at the Colorado Department of Education (CDE) about adults served by the program, including the number and types of credentials earned.

#### **OUTCOMES REIMBURSEMENT**

Qualified providers may submit reimbursements for each eligible learner's completion or attainment of the following outcomes:

- \$1,000 accredited high school diploma
- \$250 each half-credit
- \$250 employability skills certification program equal to at least one Carnegie unit
- Industry-recognized credentials:
  - \$250 requiring up to 50 hours of training
  - \$500 requiring 51-100 hours of training
  - \$750 requiring more than100 hours of training

The maximum amount that a qualified provider may receive per eligible learner is \$7,000 for the first time the learner is completing the course.

### **LEARNER ELIGIBILITY**

For the provider to be reimbursed, each learner must meet the following requirements:

- Is at least twenty-one years of age,
- Is a resident of the state of Colorado, and
- Lacks a high school diploma

# REQUEST FOR QUALIFICATIONS PROCESS

The Colorado Department of Education will publish information about the Request for Qualifications process in the fall of each year. A qualified provider is eligible for program payments for outcomes achieved 30 or more days after CDE publishes the list of qualified providers. Once CDE determines that a provider is a qualified provider under the program, the provider remains a qualified provider without the need to reapply annually, unless removed for failing to meet performance standards.

#### WHERE CAN I LEARN MORE?

- Workforce Diploma Pilot Program Page: <a href="http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult/wdpp">http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult/wdpp</a>
- Office of Adult Education Initiatives Page: <a href="http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult">http://www.cde.state.co.us/cdeadult</a>
- View all CDE fact sheets: <a href="http://www.cde.state.co.us/communications/factsheetsandfags">http://www.cde.state.co.us/communications/factsheetsandfags</a>